Moneybookers phishing scam email alert

Make Money with Some Useless InfoRecently, I received an email, apparently for a donation of EUR 359.56 from a Paul Coelho at Verizon.net. Resisting the urge to immediately click on the “Accept Payment” link, I did a little investigation which made me suspect the email to be a phishing scam. Besides, why would anyone donate EUR 359.56 to me? I don’t think my site has that great content to deserve such a generous donation.

I’ve received several PayPal phishing scam emails before but this is the first time I’ve received one using Moneybookers. The email looked and sounded 100% legit. The email sender is seen as services@moneybookers.com

So How Could I Tell It’s A Scam?

1. Google. A quick Google found that there were such scams although these were from a year or two ago. Looks like scammers like to recycle their scamming methods.

2. Email Header Details. The email sender may read services@moneybookers.com but if the header is viewed in full, the sender return path is ken@player.playersonly.com.

3. Email Link Is Redirected. When you mouseover the link to accept payment, you can see it is redirected to another site. See image below.

Moneybookers Scam

Overall, this scammer is quite amateurish – for a scammer. His tell-tale signs are easily spotted and yet, I know there must be those who are not net-savvy enough to even see these signs. That’s the reason why scammers recycle their scams after lying low for a while. However, you don’t really need to be net-savvy – just good old fashioned common sense will do and to remember this oft-repeated yet always ignored adage – if something is too good to be true, it’s probably NOT true.

  1. jt
    March 5th, 2008 at 09:59 | #1

    is this a scam or legit

  2. Wynn Currie
    July 20th, 2008 at 00:28 | #2

    I often get those scams in my email. I guess I must recognize them, because I have yet to be caught by one. Still maybe I lost a lot of ‘donations’ because of not responding, lol! I get a lot from banks and email companies that some scammer is asking for passwords too.

  3. emigre
    July 21st, 2008 at 09:35 | #3

    scammers need just a 0.1% success rate to make their scheme worthwhile since online payment sites have hundreds of thousands of members.

    And even after these schemes are exposed, you STILL get people wanting so bad for it to be legit – like our friend in the comment above you – asking if it’s a scam or legit.

    thanks for visiting
    emigre

Comments are closed.