My exchanges with a domain scammer

Make money online with someuseless.infoRecently, I received an email from someone who expressed interest in buying one of my domains. Thanks to some searching I did, I realised that I wasn’t going to get rich selling my domain.

Here are my email exchanges with Mr Scammer.

Hello,

Please email a price you can accept for your domain name.
Our company develops software for multiple video systems. Domain names is not our business but a new way to earn on reselling. We are going to buy domains to resell them at higher prices. Our company has a large database of clients interested in good domains.
If you offer more domains for sale with good reselling potential please email us your list.
Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Jacob Cohen, Ph. D.
CEO
TGN Technologies

Let’s see what happened when I sent him this reply:

Hello Mr Cohen

Thank you for your interest. I am using SEDO to handle the domain sale.
Please make an offer at:
http://www.sedo.com/search/details.php4?domain=felinephilosophy.net

Mr Scammer aka Mr Cohen got quite anxious at receiving a response and wants to close the deal ASAP in case I wised up in time:

Sedo is ok as an agent.

I need to know the lowest price you can accept.

What is your price range: $10,000 or $15,000 or even higher?

Please send it to me via email as soon as possible.

Now anyone, myself included, would become very excited at seeing numbers like “$10,000 and $15,000 or even higher” bandied about, my immediate thoughts would be – I’m rich!! Too bad that all this is only a dream; scam rather. Anyway, I string him along for abit with:

I do not deal directly with buyers. If you offer $15,000 at Sedo, you will
secure the domain.

Mr Scammer must’ve thought he’d reeled in a big one because he sent this response talking big business:

$15,000. Ok.

Do you sell the name only without web site? I’m interested in the name so web site is not so important.

Do you have an appraisal certificate for your domain name?

Domain name is an investment for me. In other words I’m going to sell your name later and make a profit. If I overpay I won’t be able to make a profit in the future. It’s very important for you and me to know the current market value of your domain.

Of course, we must be sure that you are engaging a reputable appraisal company. I heard many appraisal companies often made inaccurate appraisals. I will only accept appraisals from independent sources I trust. To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies in a forum http://domaintalk.ourplace.com/Archive/297514.htm

Just check this posting.

If the appraisal comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly. I also hope you can give me 10% – 15% discount of the appraised value.

After I get an appraisal from you we’ll continue our negotiations.

How do you prefer to get paid: www.escrow.com, www.PayPal.com check or wire?

Hope we can come to an agreement fast.

Looking forward to your reply.

Make money online with someuseless.infoIf I had said the domain would cost $100,000 he would still have said “OK”. The link he gave leads to some fake forum page which has him and some domain appraisal “expert” posting some exchanges. Notice also, how he keeps on ignoring my repeated requests for the transaction to be made on SEDO.

I replied:

Before I proceed with this transaction, I have to take some precautionary measures to make sure you are genuine. You know how it is on the internet with so many scammers running about.

To prove that you are genuine in your offer, you need to do the following:

1. Find a cat. A real one – not some stuffed toy.
2. Draw some cat whiskers and a cat nose on your face.
3. Make some cat ears out of black paper or cardboard and stick them on top of your head.
4. Take a photo of yourself carrying the cat.
5. Send me that photo.

Only after I have received this will I know that I am dealing with a real person who is sincere to do business.

We will deal after that.

Regards

Sadly, I never did receive that photo.

UPDATE: A reader got scammed by this guy and has revealed how the scammer does it. He asks for a certificate of appraisal from securenamesale.com and this costs US$407. If you believe you can sell your domain for US$15,000, you’d be more than willing to fork out US$407 to get to US$15,000.

Actually this is a scaled down version of the Nigerian scams where the amounts are in tens of millions and you need to pay several hundred thousand dollars for taxes etc.
People, if something is too good to be true, it’s not true. Never forget that.

  1. Shirley
    April 24th, 2007 at 02:26 | #1

    I received the same email and googled TGN Technologies and found your site!! Thank you for the info!!

  2. ralph emerson
    April 24th, 2007 at 15:09 | #2

    It’s very important for you and me to know the current market value of your domain.

  3. Kul
    April 24th, 2007 at 16:49 | #3

    I’ve been interacting with this guy of late as well :) . Please accept a big THANK YOU for this post !

    btw, I had posted the entire email exchange with this guy but that seems to have gotten caught by the spam filter!

  4. Kul
    April 24th, 2007 at 16:55 | #4

    And today, he seems to have changed his name and company! Though is qualification and designation remains the same. :D

    I got an offer from him today for a few more domains that I own.

    His new name and company
    Robert Cohen, Ph. D.
    CEO
    TGT Systems

  5. emigre
    April 24th, 2007 at 18:15 | #5

    Thanks for the update Kul!

  6. Deborah
    April 26th, 2007 at 02:39 | #6

    LMAO with your last reply to him!

    I’ve never heard of this scam before…never ceases to amaze me with new ideas they come up with.

    Good that he didn’t sucker you in :)

  7. George
    April 26th, 2007 at 02:54 | #7

    Too bad he didn’t make the cat photo for you… that would have been priceless!

  8. emigre
    April 26th, 2007 at 09:56 | #8

    I would have loved to have that photo…I would’ve even paid him a little something for it. :D

  9. Owais Qarni
    April 27th, 2007 at 23:48 | #9

    I got carbon copy of same guy interested in one of my domain 3 days back ! he even asked me domain appraisal but not from sedo or afternic but just from www securenamesale com but I thought it’s too good to be true so searched this guy on net and luckily got this message. You saved many ppl budy. Thanks!

  10. emigre
    May 7th, 2007 at 09:39 | #10

    Unfortunately, there are still people who got scammed by this guy. A reader has posted in the comments of the other post that he lost a few hundred dollars to this guy.

  11. Kul
    May 13th, 2007 at 01:10 | #11

    latest mail from a scammer : posting it here for people to know the new name going around. I own a few hundred domains so I keep getting these mails !

    Hello,

    Please send the lowest acceptable price for your virtual property (domain name).

    Our company develops software for multiple video systems. Domain names is not our business but a new way to earn on reselling. We are going to buy domains to resell them at higher prices. Our company has a large database of clients interested in good domains.

    If you offer more domains for sale with good reselling potential please email us your list.

    Looking forward to do business with you.

    Regards,
    Jacob Connelly
    CEO
    FJS Solutions

  12. Smoova
    May 16th, 2007 at 01:16 | #12

    The same ‘Mr Cohen’ contacted me for the same thing. We emailed about 3 or 4 times but something just didnt feel right about it so I never responded to his last email. Glad I didnt now after just finding your page! Nice work :)

  13. emigre
    May 16th, 2007 at 09:52 | #13

    Thanks! Glad you dropped by in time!

  14. hb
    August 24th, 2008 at 23:04 | #14

    this is crazy! i was just contacted by this same person, but now he goes by:
    Robert Gardos
    Vice President
    TGS Technologies

    i replied back to him and sure enough he sent me the same reply he has sent to many people sending me to some fake forum where he’s supposedly talking to domain ‘experts.’ i was thrown off when the forum didn’t have a home page so i knew right away that it was a scam! and him offering me 10,000 for a domain that’s not even worth half of that was a giveaway as well!

  15. emigre
    August 25th, 2008 at 11:08 | #15

    hb:

    Good thing you found out before handing over any money. These scammers lie low for awhile but will resurface soon enough.

    emigre

  16. michele
    January 24th, 2009 at 15:48 | #16

    I’ve just received the following mail from a scammer.
    “Hello,

    My name is Marc Shavell and I’m very interested in your domain.

    Investing in domains is a profitable business. Of course, this is not our
    main business.

    Please let me know your price for the domain in the subject line. If you
    have other good names just send me the list with prices.

    Looking forward to do business with you.

    Regards,
    Marc Shavell
    Vice President
    VOB Services LLC
    Real Estate Brokerage Services

    ========================================================
    NOTICE – This communication may contain confidential and privileged
    information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
    viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
    unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
    message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
    and deleting it from your computer.
    ========================================================

    Remember the name “MARC SHAVELL” and the address shavell@theonlinebrokerage.com” and avoid it! On the page theonlinebrokerage.com they give tips for online stocks-investors!!!

    Please, help others to know that,

    michele

Comments are closed.